Anna Von Hausswolff announces Live at the Montreux Jazz Festival

Avatar photo
Anna Von Hausswolff live at montreux review

Anna Von Hausswolff has announced a new live album. On January 14th, the singer/songwriter and organist will release Live at the Montreux Jazz Festival via Southern Lord. The album features live recordings of tracks from her albums The Miraculous and Dead Magic. She’s shared a live version of “The Truth, The Glow, The Fall” ahead of the album’s release. Hear it below.

Von Hausswolff says in a press release, “In the beginning of 2013 I was texting back and forth with my friend Albin Oskarsson. He wanted me to come and play at a jazz festival that he was living nearby, it was Montreux Jazz Festival. At that point I was still quite unknown outside Sweden and regardless of my friend’s many attempts to contact the festival they never returned to him with an offer. I gave up the idea, he did not. Later that same year he unexpectedly died and a few years later, in 2017, an email popped up in my inbox, it was a request to open for Nick Cave and the bad seeds at the Montreux jazz festival. The tragedy that Albin was still not around to share the excitement with me gave me sorrow.

But, through the magic of music comfort came. The show was an emotional turmoil of ecstasy and grief, shared with an incredible audience and atmosphere. And, eventually, I could see his face in the venue, floating above all others, smiling and waving towards me.  I’m so happy to have been given this moment  and I’m beyond grateful to Montreux Jazz Festival, John Harris and Mathieu Jaton who so beautifully recorded this special concert that I will keep close to my heart forever and ever.”

Live at the Montreux Jazz Festival follows last year’s All Thoughts Fly.

Anna Von Hausswolff Live at the Montreux Jazz Festival tracklist:

1. The Truth, The Glow, The Fall (live)
2. Pomperipossa (live)
3. The Mysterious Vanishing Of Electra (live)
4. Ugly And Vengeful (live)
5. Kållans återuppståndelse (live)
6. Come Wander With Me Deliverance (live)

Anna Von Hausswolff’s Dead Magic was on our list of the Top 50 Albums of 2018.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top