Sons of Kemet announce new album, Black to the Future

Avatar photo
comet is coming hyper-dimensional expansion beam review

British jazz group Sons of Kemet have announced a new album. On May 14, the group will release Black to the Future via Impulse! Records. It features a number of guest collaborators, including Angel Bat Dawid, Moor Mother, grime emcee D Double E and poet Joshua Idehen. The first single is titled “Hustle,” and features Kojey Radical. Watch its video, directed by Ashleigh Jadee, below.

In a press release, saxophonist and bandleader Shabaka Hutchings says, “Black to the Future is a sonic poem for the invocation of power, remembrance and healing. It depicts a movement to redefine and reaffirm what it means to strive for black power.”  

He continues: “The meaning is not universal and the cultural context of the listener will shape their understanding. Yet in the end, the overarching message remains the same: For humanity to progress we must consider what it means to be Black to the Future.”

Black to the Future follows 2018’s Your Queen is a Reptile.

Sons of Kemet Black to the Future tracklist:

1. Field Negus feat. Joshua Idehen
2. Pick Up Your Burning Cross feat. Moor Mother, Angel Bat Dawid
3. Think Of Home
4. Hustle feat. Kojey Radical
5. For The Culture feat. D Double E
6. To Never Forget The Source
7. In Remembrance Of Those Fallen
8. Let The Circle Be Unbroken
9. Envision Yourself Levitating
10. Throughout The Madness, Stay Strong
11. Black feat. Joshua Idehen

Sons of Kemet’s Your Queen Is a Reptile is featured on our list of 25 Essential Impulse! Records Albums.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top