Sun Ra Arkestra announce new album, Living Sky

Avatar photo
Sun Ra Arkestra

The Sun Ra Arkestra have announced a new album. On October 7, the legendary jazz ensemble will release Living Sky via Omni Sound. The first track they’ve shared is “Somebody Else’s Idea,” which you can hear below.

“‘Somebody Else’s Idea’ is an affirmation that the world I live in is a world that I can change,” says baritone saxophonist Knoel Scott in a press release. “The first part of change is not accepting the status, the so called status quo, in rejecting the status quo, I free myself to the possibilities which range amongst the infinite. It is our desire. There are those who listen to our music also embrace the possibilities which range beyond the limits of the impossible.”

Sun Ra Arkestra’s last album was 2020’s Swirling.

Sun Ra Arkestra Living Sky tracklist:

1. Chopin (Frédéric Chopin)
2. Somebody Else’s Idea (Sun Ra)
3. Day of the Living Sky (Marshall Allen)
4. Marshall’s Groove (Marshall Allen)
5. Night of the Living Sky (Sun Ra)
6. Firefly (Marshall Allen)
7. Wish Upon A Star (Leigh Harline)

Read our Beginner’s Guide to the interstellar music of Sun Ra.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top