Superchunk announce new album, Wild Loneliness

Avatar photo

Superchunk has announced a new album. On February 25 the group will release Wild Loneliness via Merge. The album was recorded at home during lockdown in North Carolina and mixed by Wally Gagel, who worked on the group’s 1995 album Here’s Where the Strings Come In. The first single is titled “Endless Summer,” and it features vocal harmonies from Teenage Fanclub’s Norman Blake and Raymond McGinley. Hear it below and check out the album’s artwork and tracklist, as well as the group’s upcoming tour dates.

Mac McCaughan says of the single: “Endless Summer” was written on New Year’s Day 2020 which was unseasonably warm here in North Carolina. Of course, by the time we recorded it, “endless summer” had other meanings… The 7” sleeve features Roe Ethridge’s beautiful photos of broken beach umbrellas which capture the vibe of the song perfectly.

Wild Loneliness follows 2018’s What a Time to Be Alive.

Superchunk Wild Loneliness tracklist:

1 City of the Dead
2 Endless Summer
3 On the Floor
4 Highly Suspect
5 Set It Aside
6 This Night
7 Wild Loneliness
8 Refracting
9 Connection
10 If You’re Not Dark

Superchunk tour dates:

2/25 Winston-Salem, NC – Ramkat*
2/26 Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle*
3/1 Washington, DC – Black Cat*
3/2 Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer*
3/3 Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Steel*
3/4 Holyoke, MA – Gateway City Arts*
3/5 Boston, MA – Paradise Rock Club*
3/7 Toronto, ON – Axis Club^
3/8 Detroit, MI – El Club^
3/9 Chicago, IL – Metro^
3/11 Nashville, TN – Brooklyn Bowl^
3/12 Atlanta, GA – Terminal West^
4/4 Seattle, WA – Neumos%
4/5 Portland, OR – Revolution Hall%
4/7 San Francisco, CA – Independent#
4/9 Pioneertown, CA – Pappy and Harriet’s#
4/10 Los Angeles, CA – Teragram Ballroom#

^ w/ Wednesday
% w/ Quasi
# w/ Mike Krol

Read our Greatest Hits future on Mac McCaughan’s favorite songs from his solo, Superchunk and Portastatic catalog.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top