Waxahatchee announces new album, Saint Cloud

Avatar photo
Waxahatchee new album Saint Cloud

Waxahatchee has announced a new album. On March 27, Katie Crutchfield will release Saint Cloud via Merge Records. Brad Cook produced the album, which was recorded in both Texas and New York, and the first single is called “Fire,” which you can hear below.

Crutchfield says of the song, “The idea and melody for “Fire” was dreamt up while driving over the Mississippi River from Memphis into West Memphis, AR, sun reflecting off the water which literally made West Memphis glow. The song’s written by me, to myself. It’s about the internal dialogue of shame surrounding mistakes you’ve made in the past and how we spiral and beat ourselves up when we slip. It’s meant to be a bit of a personal pep talk. If I can love myself unconditionally, then I can move through the world a little easier. If I can accept that I only have a partial view of the universe, and that I can’t know everything or control much of anything, then I can breathe a little easier, take better care of myself, and be closer to my own truth.”

Saint Cloud follows 2017’s Out in the Storm.

Waxahatchee Saint Cloud tracklist:

1. Oxbow
2. Can’t Do Much
3. Fire
4. Lilacs
5. The Eye
6. Hell
7. Witches
8. War
9. Arkadelphia
10. Ruby Falls
11. St. Cloud

Waxahatchee’s “Sliver” is featured on our list, Merge Records: 30 Years, 30 Tracks.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top