Young Jesus announce new album, The Fool

Avatar photo
Young Jesus

Young Jesus have announced a new album. On May 24, they’ll release The Fool via Saddle Creek. The new album was recorded by Shahzad Ismaily, and today Young Jesus have shared new song “Brenda and Diane.” Hear it below.

Young Jesus songwriter and frontman John Rossiter said in a statement about the new song, “Brenda and Diane are on the run. The main character thinks he’s better than them. But sits down to talk to them, to humor them. Sees that they have a whole, complex life. Humbling for the main character and his sense of superiority and judgment. Brenda and Diane invite him into life.

“As with many of these songs, recording this tune mirrored the content of the song. Alex Lappin, the producer, really challenged me to craft a narrative with the vocal delivery. I was resistant because I like how I sing normally and I don’t like to deviate from my usual delivery– it makes me feel safe. Makes me feel detached.

“But we really worked on this one, and I felt I left my ego a bit.  Was able, thanks to Alex, to find what the song needed rather than what I wanted.”

Young Jesus’ last album was 2022’s Shepherd Head, which is featured on our list of Great Albums You Might Have Missed from Summer/Fall 2022.

Young Jesus new album The Fool

Young Jesus The Fool tracklist:

1. Brenda & Diane
2. Two Brothers
3. Rabbit
4. Rich
5. Moonlight
7. The Weasel
8. Am I The Only One?
9. Sunrise
10. Dancer
11. God’s Plan

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top