Solomon Burke’s Don’t Give Up On Me to get 20th anniversary reissue

Avatar photo
Solomon Burke Don't Give Up On Me reissue

Solomon Burke‘s acclaimed 2002 album Don’t Give Up on Me is being reissued. On November 18, Anti- will release a 20th anniversary edition of the album on vinyl. The album was produced by singer/songwriter Joe Henry and features Burke’s performances of songs contributed by Tom Waits, Elvis Costello, Bob Dylan, Brian Wilson and more. Hear the title track below.

Joe Henry said about the album in a statement, “I was simply a facilitator. And I say this not to diminish my contributions to the man’s story, nor his ultimate appreciation of them; but I can see as well that though many of the songs written for him and offered up to the project ––and by historically significant songwriters–– hung and clung, at first blush, like ill-fitting clothes…he was like Matisse: the subject ––be that a vase of flowers, a bowl of fruit; a reclining nude I Need A Holiday –– was of little consequence; for he would use them regardless to speak exactly as he meant to, transfiguring their familiar forms beyond architecture and into something with far more ethereal and spiritual implications.”

Solomon Burke Don’t Give Up On Me tracklist:

1. Don’t Give Up On Me
2. Fast Train
3. Diamond In Your Mind
4. Flesh And Blood
5. Soul Searchin’
6. Only A Dream
7. The Judgement
8. Stepchild
9. The Other Side Of The Coin
10. None Of Us Are Free
11. Sit This One Out

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top