Premiere: The Chairman Dances craft a gorgeously intricate indie-folk anthem with “No Compass, No Map”

Avatar photo
The Chairman Dances premiere

On September 7, Philadelphia-based self-described “bookish indie rock” band The Chairman Dances will release their new album Child of My Sorrow via Black Rd Records. Today, Treble is premiering a new track from the album, titled “No Compass, No Map.” The song opens gently but urgently, balancing some elegant flourishes of piano against an acoustic guitar strum and vocalist Eric Krewson’s warm baritone vocals. But soon enough the song picks up and grows into a majestic chamber-pop song with powerful bursts of horns. It’s hard not to think of classic Sufjan Stevens when listening to this song, as there’s a similar sense of beauty and ambition. It’s gorgeous. Listen to The Chairman Dances’ “No Compass, No Map” stream below.

The Chairman Dances Child of My Sorrow tracklist:

1. Acme Parking Garage
2. Mascot
3. Iridescent
4. No Compass, No Map
5.-6. A Half-Mile from Allentown
7. No One Can Hurt You (Like a Friend Can Hurt You)
8. Hannah, I Know It Wasn’t Always Easy
9. Out of the Lion’s Den, Into the Lion’s Maw
10. First to Leave
11. Child of My Sorrow

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top