Jenny Hval releases new track, “That Battle Is Over”

Avatar photo
Jenny Hval apocalypse girl

On June 9, Jenny Hval will release Apocalypse, girl, her follow-up to 2013’s Innocence is Kinky, via Sacred Bones. Norwegian noise artist Lasse Marhaug produced the album, which also features appearances by Swans’ Thor Harris, Jaga Jazzist’s Øystein Moen, Håvard Volden, Kyrre Laastad, Okkyung Lee, and Rhodri Davies. Today, Hval debuted a new song from the album called “That Battle Is Over.” It’s a beautifully dark and soulful track, which apparently came about after Hval wanted to sing some karaoke. It’s one of the most accessible tracks Hval has released to date, but it features some weighty lyrics (“The battle is over / And feminism’s over / And socialism’s over“). It’s never always so simple and straightforward with Hval, but this track — like her others before it — is another compelling artistic shift.

Jenny Hval Apocalypse, girl tracklist:

1 Kingsize
2 Take Care Of Yourself
3 That Battle Is Over
4 White Underground
5 Heaven
6 Why This_
7 Some Days
8 Sabbath
9 Angels and Anaemia
10 Holy Land

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top