Perfume Genius announces new album Too Bright

Avatar photo
yeah yeah yeahs cool it down review

Singer/songwriter Mike Hadreas, a.k.a. Perfume Genius, is back with new music this year. On Sept. 23, Perfume Genius will release Too Bright, his follow-up to 2012’s Put Your Back N 2 It, via Matador. The album was recorded with Adrian Utley of Portishead, and features longtime PJ Harvey collaborator John Parish, who also performed on Hadreas’ previous album.

Hadreas has shared a new song called “Queen,” which is about gay panic and the power he takes from people’s reactions to his sexuality. Hadreas says of the song in a press release, “Sometimes I see faces of blank fear when I walk by…if these fucking people want to give me some power—if they see me as some sea witch with penis tentacles that are always prodding and poking and seeking to convert the muggles—well, here she comes.”

Listen to “Queen” below, and check out the tracklist beneath the stream.

Perfume Genius Too Bright:

1 I Decline
2 Queen
3 Fool
4 No Good
5 My Body
6 Don’t Let Them In
7 Grid
8 Longpig
9 I’m a Mother
10 Too Bright
11 All Along

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top