Hear the psychedelic new groover from Abraxas, “Göbekli Tepe”

Avatar photo
Abraxas gobleki tepe

On October 28, Abraxas—the duo of Carolina Faruolo (ex-Los Bitchos) and Danny Lee Blackwell (Night Beats)—release their debut album Monte Carlo via Suicide Squeeze. Today, they’ve shared a new video for “Göbekli Tepe,” named for an archeological site in Turkey and which grooves amid a psychedelic swirl of reverb and hypnotic guitar licks. Inspired by both Anatolian rock and Brazilian samba, it takes the listener on a ride into some strange and exotic places in just a little over four minutes, all the while maintaining a rhythmic sensibility that keeps it from ever diving too deep into a chemically induced netherworld. It’s also just cool AF.

The group shared a statement about the track: “A dense, electricity filled fog hovers over the grounds of ‘Göbekli Tepe’. A dark samba emerges, drifting through the vines covered monolithic halls; while in rhythm with the sleeping jaguars and chirping cicadas. The beckoning choruses lull our traveler into a bossa nova induced trance, while the hand rhythms keep the pulse of the jungle.” Check out the video below, with visualizations by Bradley Hale.

Abraxas Monte Carlo tracklist:

1. Sunrise State (Of Mind)
2. Mañana
3. Sultan
4. Monte Carlo
5. La Estampida
6. Hourglass
7. Prismatic
8. Yes
9. Golden
10. Fuji
11. Shapeshifter
12. Göbekli Tepe

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top