Hotels On Mars shares gloomy, beautiful new track “13 Mimosas”

Avatar photo
Hotels on Mars premiere

On February 12, Mat Weitman a.k.a. Hotels On Mars will release his new album, Grief Museum via Styles Upon Styles. The album was written by Weitman in 2020 about the loss of a friend and the end of a relationship, and previously shared the album’s leadoff track, “Worst Year on Record.” Today, Weitman has shared a new single, titled “13 Mimosas.” It’s a dreamy acoustic track with dreamy accents of slide and a heavy dose of reverb. It feels like a cloudy day on a desert highway, gloomy but beautiful.

Weitman says about the track in a statement, “When I began recording this one, I was trying to explore a tone/color but wasn’t sure what the final shape of the song would look like. It was sort of a relief from recording the rest of the album—which was sometimes exhausting and frustrating. I was also really beginning to come to terms with the fact that life wouldn’t return to normal anytime soon. And there was nowhere to drink about it.”

Hear “13 Mimosas” below.

Hotels On Mars Grief Museum tracklist:

1. The Worst Year on Record
2. Indiana
3. All I Want’s a Picture of Your Favorite Bar
4. Catalina Pigtail Pork-Rind
5. Grief Museum Rag
6. (I Don’t Want to) Hurt Myself
7. 13 Mimosas
8. For Dee
9. Chernobyl
10. Untitled No. 4

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top