Jim White of The Dirty Three announces debut album, All Hits: Memories

Avatar photo
Jim White

Veteran drummer Jim White—member of Dirty Three and Venom P. Stinger, and collaborator of Cat Power, PJ Harvey and Bonnie “Prince” Billy—has announced his debut album. All Hits: Memories will be released on March 29 via Drag City. Today he’s shared a new song, “Names Make the Name,” which you can hear below. The album was engineered and produced by White and Guy Picciotto (Fugazi) who co-wrote six of the songs.

White’s friend and collaborator Bill Callahan said of the new album in a statement, “This is long overdue.  I mean, looooooonnnnnng overdue. A solo album by Jim.”

He continues: “Jim oversees it all, surveys from the lost place we’re in, the void – the drumless song. We trust. We trust, Jim. His big green eyes search for the right tool (mallet, brush, etc), eyes that search you like you’re a song he wants to join, wants to see if he can add to or understand.”

Read our guide to the In the Fishtank album series, which includes Low’s collaboration with The Dirty Three.

Jim White new album All Hits: Memories

Jim White All Hits: Memories Tracklist:
1. Curtains
2. Percussion Build
3. Marketplace
4. Soft Material
5. St. Francis Place Set Up
6. Uncoverup
7. Walking the Block
8. Jully
9. Long Assemblage
10. Names Make the Name
11. No/Know Now
12. Stationary Figure
13. Here Comes

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top