The Living Pins take a psychedelic garage-rock journey on “Raven”

Avatar photo
Living Pins Raven premiere

On March 26, Austin’s The Living Pins release their new EP Freaky Little Monster Children. The group comprises Carrie Clark (formerly of Sixteen Deluxe) and Pam Peltz (producer of Daniel Johnston’s “Ain’t No Woman Gonna Make a George Jones Outta Me” and “Casper”), and the EP is their first new release together since 1996. Today, they share the new track “Raven,” which is the leadoff track from the new EP.

“Raven” is a raw, bluesy track dripping with dark psychedelia, with a strut reminiscent of PJ Harvey circa To Bring You My Love or The Kills’ first couple records. Its guitars are sharp and scuzzy, with lots of clattering percussion that seems to mimic railroad tracks and Clark and Peltz’s mellifluous vocal harmonies. The band paints a portrait of a reckless vagabond lifestyle, invoking the EP title in a call-out to “freaky little monster children,” and it’s hard not to get caught up in a sense of wanderlust with music that moves like this. Over the course of its five minutes, however, the group layers more elements over one another, and what begins as a stripped-down garage rock jam becomes a swirling and intoxicating blend of sounds. It’s a trip, and it’s a journey—dirty, bluesy rock ‘n’ roll at its best.

Listen to The Living Pins’ “Raven” below.

The Living Pins Freaky Little Monster Children tracklist:

1. Raven
2. Downtown
3. Jaguar
4. Fish and Beads

Pre-order it here.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top