John Carpenter Lost Themes details revealed

Avatar photo
John Carpenter Lost Themes

Last week, Sacred Bones revealed “Vortex,” the first bit of unreleased music from John Carpenter’s new compilation Lost Themes — a collection of original music written and performed by the iconic horror and sci-fi director originally thought to have been composed for various films throughout his career. And today, a whole bunch of details about the album have finally been revealed. Lost Themes will be released via Sacred Bones on Feb. 3, 2015. The album is not actually a soundtrack compilation, but in fact a set of new music, not unlike the album David Lynch released on the label last year, The Big Dream.

In a press release, Carpenter says of the album, “Lost Themes was all about having fun. It can be both great and bad to score over images, which is what I’m used to. Here there were no pressures. No actors asking me what they’re supposed to do. No crew waiting. No cutting room to go to. No release pending. It’s just fun.”

You heard the man, it’s about having fun! That’s the album cover above, and you can check out the tracklist below, along with a stream of “Vortex.”

John Carpenter Lost Themes:

1. Vortex
2. Obsidian
3. Fallen
4. Domain
5. Mystery
6. Abyss
7. Wraith
8. Purgatory
9. Night

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top