Sufjan Stevens releases new track, “No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross”

Avatar photo
Sufjan Stevens no shade

On March 30, Sufjan Stevens will release Carrie & Lowell, his first new full-length since 2010’s The Age of Adz, via Asthmatic Kitty. The album is said to be a return to Stevens’ folk roots, and today we have some confirmation of that, in the form of a new track from the album, titled “No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross.” The new track might remind you a little bit of his work on Michigan or Seven Swans, but it’s considerably darker than anything from those albums, and his voice sounds a bit different as well. This is a different side of Sufjan than we’re used to, and it’s a compelling new chapter for the singer/songwriter.

Listen to the Sufjan Stevens “No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross” stream below, and check out the lyric sheet.

Sufjan Stevens No Shade lyricsSufjan Stevens Carrie & Lowell tracklist:

1 Death With Dignity
2 Should Have Known Better
3 All of Me Wants All of You
4 Drawn to the Blood
5 Fourth of July
6 The Only Thing
7 Carrie & Lowell
8 Eugene
9 John My Beloved
10 No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
11 Blue Bucket of Gold

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top