Metz announce new album, II

Avatar photo

Toronto post-hardcore trio Metz announced this morning via Instagram that they’re releasing a new album. On May 5, the band will release II, the follow-up to their 2012 self-titled debut, via Sub Pop. The album was self-produced and self-mixed, with some assistance from engineer Graham Walsh, and on this album, the band incorporated a wider variety of instruments (baritone guitar, tape loops, piano, synth, found sounds), according to a press release. It sounds like there’s a lot of experimentation going on here, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t expect a bruising punk record like the one they gave us a few years ago.

The band has shared a kind of official unofficial video for new single “Acetate,” which features some Satanic pancakes. The song itself, however, is an absolute ripper. Watch and listen below, and check out the album’s cover art and tracklist.

Metz new album IIMetz II tracklist:

1. Acetate
2. The Swimmer
3. Spit You Out
4. Zzyzx
5. IOU
6. Landfill
7. Nervous System
8. Wait in Line
9. Eyes Peeled
10. Kicking a Can of Worms

Metz’s self-titled album was one of our Top 50 Albums of 2012.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top