Mogwai announce new album, Atomic

Avatar photo
Mogwai new album Atomic

Scottish post-rock heroes Mogwai have just announced their signing with Temporary Residence, as well as their first release for the label. On June 17, the band will release Atomic, which comprises reworked versions of tracks written for director Mark Cousins’ documentary Atomic: Living in Dread and Promise, which aired on BBC Four. The film concerns the horrors of the atomic age, and Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite had this to say about the project:

“The Atomic soundtrack is one of the most intense and fulfilling projects we’ve taken on as a band. Ever since we went to Hiroshima to play and visited the peace park this has been a subject very close to us. The end results, both the film score and the record are pieces I’m extremely proud of.”

Listen to “Ether” below. Atomic follows 2014’s Rave Tapes and last year’s retrospective compilation, Central Belters.

Mogwai Atomic tracklist:

1. Ether
2. Scram
3. Bitterness Centrifuge
4. U-235
5. Pripyat
6. Weak Force
7. Little Boy
8. Are You a Dancer?
9. Tzar
10. Fat Man

Read our Beginner’s Guide to Mogwai.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top