Darkside’s Dave Harrington to release first album as The Dave Harrington Group

Avatar photo

After their 0ne-album team-up Darkside broke up in 2014, Dave Harrington and Nicolas Jaar are making music again. On April 15, Harrington will release his first album as the Dave Harrington Group, titled Become Alive, via his and Jaar’s Other People label. The album will feature various collaborations with his “favorite musicians and closest friends,” including Jaar. Read a statement about the album below.

This record is the result of improvising with different combinations of people, and then processing and re-sculpting those improvisations—isolating passages, turning them into something new, overdubbing layers of myself, maybe taking something from another piece and superimposing it out of its original context. But each track is always me interacting with other people, sometimes just one or two… sometimes ten.  There was flute, vibes, organ, Fender Rhodes, guitar, bass, two drummers, percussion, sax…just full-on, over-blown energy. I took all that and treated it as raw material in the mixing stage… but when you have ten people in a room, you can only edit so much. Everything is in every microphone anyway—it’s all connected, so it’s about turning it into whatever it wants to be.

Listen to the title track below. Darkside’s one and only album is Psychic. In 2014 Harrington released Before This There Was One Heart But A Thousand Thoughts.

Dave Harrington Group Become Alive tracklist:

1 White Heat
2 Slides
3 The Prophet
4 Cities of the Red Night
5 Steels
6 Become Alive
7 Spectrum
8 All I Can Do

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top