William Tyler announces new album, Modern Country

Avatar photo
William Tyler Modern Country

Guitarist William Tyler has announced a new album due out later this year. On June 3, he’ll release Modern Country, via Merge. It’s his follow-up to 2014’s Lost Colony, and was recorded in Justin Vernon’s April Base Studios in Eau Claire, Wisconsin. That’s the album cover above. “Modern Country is a love letter to what we’re losing in America, to what we’ve already lost,” Tyler says in a statement. “We stand at the precipice of the twilight of empire, the decline of so many national institutions and the vanishing of certainties.”

Watch a trailer for the album below, plus check out the album’s tracklist and Tyler’s upcoming tour dates.

William Tyler Modern Country tracklist:

1 Highway Anxiety
2 I’m Gonna Live Forever (If It Kills Me)
3 Kingdom of Jones
4 Albion Moonlight
5 Gone Clear
6 Sunken Garden
7 The Great Unwind

William Tyler tour dates:

4/11-13 Chicago, IL – City Winery (M)
4/14 Grand Rapids, MI – Covenant Fire Arts Center (M)
4/16 York, PA – Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center (M)
4/17-19 New York, NY – City Winery (M)
8/12 Eau Claire, WI – Eaux Claires Festival
8/16 Kansas City, MO – CrossroadsKC (W)
8/17 St. Louis, MO – The Fabulous Fox Theatre (W)

(M) with The Mountain Goats
(W) with Wilco

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top