Death Valley Girls announce new album Under the Spell of Joy

Avatar photo

Death Valley Girls have announced a new album. The Los Angeles psychedelic garage-goth group will release their fourth album, Under the Spell of Joy, on October 2 via Suicide Squeeze. The title of the record was inspired by San Diego heavy psych group JOY, and inspirations for the record include Black Sabbath, gospel and Ethiopian funk, according to a press release.

Death Valley Girls vocalist Bonnie Bloomgarden said the following in a press release: “Under the Spell of Joy is a space-gospel record. We believe we served as channels for what we think are guides. As we learn what the songs are about we realize they are meant to be sang like chants, hymns, or spells. Most of the songs were recorded with 12 voices, including a kids choir! We are learning that words with intention and energy hold so much power, especially when said or sang with a group. “The Universe” is a song to sing, a space to be, a time to think, remember, and truly feel that not only are we all connected, but we are also being guided.”

Check out the video for first single “The Universe” below.

Death Valley Girls Under the Spell of Joy tracklist:

1. Hypnagogia
2. Hold My Hand
3. Under the Spell of Joy
4. Bliss Out
5. Hey Dena
6. The Universe
7. It All Washes Away
8. Little Things
9. 10 Day Miracle Challenge
10. I’d Rather Be Dreaming
11. Dream Cleaver

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top