Hear P.E.’s “SPLASHH!!”, from the upcoming NOPE Tapes Vol. 3

Avatar photo

New York experimental post-punk/electronic group P.E. are returning with the next installment of their NOPE Tapes series. NOPE Tapes Vol. 3 is out October 6 via Wharf Cat. Today, the group shares “SPLASHH!!”, a synth-laden no wave electro-funk groove heavy on saxophone and wobbly, watery beats. It’s at once danceable and abstract, a further exploration of the group’s pursuit of genreless shapes and improvisational funk creations.

P.E.’s Johnny Campolo said in a statement, “Music is art. Art is fashion. Fashion is water. SPLASHH!! New York City has to be one of the greatest cities in the world for people watching. A sea of strangers, set apart but squished together. Sidewalks scream and point you places. Everyone in love, crushed, killing it, drowning. I see myself in every single sob story starved starlet sky-scraping one. People often say, “risk it, just jump in,” or maybe ‘swim with sharks.’ But being risky in a dangerous environment usually involves either competition or a potential for harm. Be careful, but don’t be. Off the deep end!”

P.E. are playing a tape-release party at Knitting Factory at Baker Falls in New York City on October 11. Find tickets here.

NOPE Tapes Vol. 1-3 follow last year’s The Leather Lemon. Their song “Tears in the Rain,” featuring Parquet Courts’ A. Savage, was featured on our list of the 100 Best Songs of 2022.

P.E. NOPE Tapes Vol. 3 tracklist:

1 – Intake
3 – Red No. 5
4 – Tazleen’s Style
5 – Shhh…
6 – Black Lodge Funk
7 – Motion Studies
8 – Wet Newspaper
9 – Waiting For The Cat To Arrive
10 – Missing Keys
11 – Dirty Stirrup
12 – Dossin’
13 – Hair Cropped High
14 – Skies Through Windows
15 – Kitchen Groove

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top