Mitski announces new album, Be the Cowboy

Avatar photo
Mitski 2018

Mitski has announced a new album. On August 17, the singer/songwriter will release Be the Cowboy via Dead Oceans. The first single is titled “Geyser,” and Mitski has released the video for the new track, directed by Zia Anger, which can be viewed below.

“For this new record, I experimented in narrative and fiction,” Mitski says in a press release. One character on the album is “a very controlled icy repressed woman who is starting to unravel. Because women have so little power and showing emotion is seen as weakness, this ‘character’ clings to any amount of control she can get. Still, there is something very primordial in her that is trying to find a way to get out.”

Be the Cowboy follows 2016’s Puberty 2.

Mitski new album

Mitski Be the Cowboy tracklist:

1. Geyser
2. Why Didn’t You Stop Me
3. Old Friend
4. A Pearl
5. Lonesome Love
6. Remember My Name
7. Me And My Husband
8. Come Into the Water
9. Nobody
10. Pink in the Night
11. A Horse Named Cold Air
12. Washing Machine Heart
13. Blue Light
14. Two Slow Dancers

Mitski’s Puberty 2 is on our list of the Top 50 Albums of 2016.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top