R.E.M. announce New Adventures in Hi-Fi reissue

Avatar photo
best reissues 2021 R.E.M.

This year is the 25th anniversary of R.E.M.’s New Adventures in Hi-Fi, and to celebrate, the group is reissuing the album. On October 29, the band will release the album as an expanded 2xCD set, including a limited edition with a Blu-ray disc, as well as 2xLP vinyl. The expanded version of the album features bonus tracks, including an alternate version of album highlight “Leave,” sans the tense siren sounds, which they’ve shared today. Hear it below.

Michael Stipe says of the track, “I actually might prefer this version to the one that’s on the record… Well, I wouldn’t say I prefer it, it just tells a different story with the lyric.” Find pre-order info here.

R.E.M. New Adventures in Hi-Fi expanded edition tracklist:

Disc 1 – Remastered Album
1. How the West Was Won and Where It Got Us
2. The Wake-Up Bomb
3. New Test Leper
4. Undertow
5. E-Bow the Letter
6. Leave
7. Departure
8. Bittersweet Me
9. Be Mine
10. Binky the Doormat
11. Zither
12. So Fast, So Numb
13. Low Desert
14. Electrolite

Disc 2 – B-Sides and Rarities
1. Tricycle
2. Departure
3. Wall of Death
4. Undertow (live)
5. Wichita Lineman
6. New Test Leper (live acoustic)
7. The Wake-Up Bomb (live)
8. Binky the Doormat (live)
9. King of Comedy (808 State Remix)
10. Be Mine (Mike on Bus version)
11. Love Is All Around
12. Sponge
13. Leave (Alternate Version)

R.E.M.’s “The One I Love” is featured on our list of 10 Misunderstood Songs.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top