Watch the new video for PHAL:ANGST’s “Whiteout”

Avatar photo

On January 13, Austrian industrial/post-rock outfit PHAL:ANGST release their new album, Whiteout, via Noise Appeal/Rough Trade Distribution. The album features remixes by Lustmord and Jarboe, And today, they’ve shared a new video for the title track. Shot in black and white, it’s a progression taking place in the same living room, depicting two people listening to PHAL:ANGST while drinking, getting high, moving on to harder drugs, sinking into depression and eventually being shocked awake. The song itself is a slow-burner, gradually escalating from a graceful and gentle ambient-pop intro, marked by gorgeous piano flourishes, into a heavy and noisy climax that goes out with a bang. Check it out below and pre-order the album here.

A statement about the song reads, “Phal:Angst’s video for their new album’s title track Whiteout is a direct follow up to the video for the song ‘On The Run’ from the predecessor album Phase IV (Bloodshed666 Rec 2018). It’s about people and staring at them and their alienation. While ‘On The Run’ was focused on one person, and primarily about what could be called ‘teenage angst,’ Whiteout leaves more room for interpretation: from relative indifference to total bore-out, drug abuse, depression and anxiety, but maybe also tiny moments of empowerment. Sounds like the music of this band.”

PHAL:ANGST Whiteout tracklist:

1. Whiteout
2. Severance
3. Least Said, Soonest Mended
4. What Rests Mute In Bright Corners
5. Unhinged
6. What A Time To Be Alive
7. Unhinged (Lustmord Remix)
8. A Tale Of Severance (Jarboe Remix)

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top