Xiu Xiu announce new album Angel Guts: Red Classroom

Avatar photo
Xiu Xiu - Angel Guts Red Classroom

Xiu Xiu has been pretty busy lately. Next month, the band will release NINA, their set of Nina Simone covers, and in 2014, they’ve got another brand new full-length of originals on the way. On Feb. 4, the band releases Angel Guts: Red Classroom, their follow-up to 2012’s Always, via Polyvinyl. The album is reportedly inspired by frontman Jamie Stewart’s recent move to a sketchy part of Los Angeles, after spending four years in North Carolina. A press release states: “A park divided among four gangs, a lake routinely dragged for bodies, a building wherein two infant skeletons were recently uncovered — the aura of his new home bleeds into every pore of the album, each lyric and note bearing traces of its essence: the terrible beauty, the despair, the violence, the ultra humanity, the uncertainty.”

The album will be released on CD, 180-gram clear and red vinyl, cassette, and digital formats.

Check out the tracklist below, along with a stream of new track “Stupid in the Dark.”


1. Angel Guts:
2. Archie’s Fades
3. Stupid in the Dark
4. Lawrence Liquors
5. Black Dick
6. New Life Immigration
7. EL Naco
8. Adult Friends
9. The Silver Platter
10. Bitter Melon
11. A Knife in the Sun
12. Cinthya’s Unisex
13. Botanica de Los Angeles
14. :Red Classroom

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top