Yussef Dayes announces debut album, Black Classical Music

Avatar photo
Yussef Dayes

Yussef Dayes has announced his debut solo album. The London jazz multi-instrumentalist, who released his collaborative debut with Kamaal Williams in 2016, has revealed the details of Black Classical Music. It’s out September 8 via Brownswood/Cashmere Thoughts/Nonesuch, and features appearances from Shabaka Hutchings, Tom Misch, Chronixx, Masego and more. The first song he’s shared from the album is the title track, which features Venna and Charlie Stacey. Hear it below.

Dayes said in a statement, “What is jazz? Where did the word derive from? Birthed in New Orleans, born in the belly of the Mississippi River, rooted in the gumbo pot of the Caribbean, South American culture & African rituals. Continuing a lineage of Miles Davis, Rahssan Roland Kirk, Nina Simone, John Coltrane, Louis Armstrong ~ music that is forever evolving & limitless in its potential. The groove, its feeling, the compositions, the spontaneity, with a love for family, the discipline & dedication in maintaining the very high bar set by the pantheon of Black Classical Musicians. Chasing the rhythm of drums that imitated one’s heartbeat, the melodies for the mind and spirit, the bass for the core. A Regal sound for this body of music.”

yussef dayes new album black classical music

Yussef Dayes Black Classical Music tracklist:

1. Black Classical Music (feat. Venna & Charlie Stacey)
2. Afro Cubanism
3. Raisins Under The Sun (feat. Shabaka Hutchings)
4. Rust (feat. Tom Misch)
5. Turquoise Galaxy
6. The Light (feat. Bahia Dayes)
7. Pon Di Plaza (feat. Chronixx)
8. Magnolia Symphony
9. Early Dayes
10. Chasing The Drum
11. Birds of Paradise
12. Gelato
13. Marching Band (feat. Masego)
14. Crystal Palace Park (feat. Elijah Fox)
15. Presidential (feat. Jahaan Sweet)
16. Jukebox
17. Woman’s Touch (feat. Jamilah Barry)
18. Tioga Pass (feat. Rocco Palladino)
19. Cowrie Charms (feat. Leon Thomas & Barbara Hicks)

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top