Earth’s debut, Earth 2: Special Low Frequency Version, to be reissued for 30th anniversary

Avatar photo
Earth 2 vinyl reissue

Sub Pop has announced a 30th anniversary reissue of the debut album by Seattle drone-metal titans Earth, Earth 2: Special Low Frequency Version. The reissue will be released on November 3 alongside its companion remix release, Earth 2.23 Special Lower Frequency Mix. Both albums will be released on colored vinyl. Hear the Bug’s reissue of “Angels (The Bug Remix feat. Flowdan)” below.

The Bug’s Kevin Martin said in a statement about contribution “Angels (The Bug Remix feat. Flowdan)”: “When I first heard Earth 2 I didn’t even make it to the end of the album, as I later embarrassingly confessed to Dylan Carlson. But ironically it ended up being one of ‘those’ records that sounds so alien on first listen, but ends up being a constant companion, absolutely embedded under my skin and in constant rotation. So much so that I later approached Dylan to collaborate on our 2017 album Concrete Desert for Ninja Tune. So it was incredibly flattering to be approached by him to reinterpret one of Earth 2’s choice cuts. As I knew Dylan was a fan of my work with Flowdan, it was a no brainer to invite my regular partner in musical crime to spit on the mic for my rework. We aimed to fuse drone, hip hop, low end dirt and grime into a monolithic slab of sonic f-ck you. The result made us smile in the best possible way.”

Earth Earth 2: Special Low Frequency Version tracklist:

1. Seven Angels
2. Teeth of Lions Rule the Divine
3. Like Gold and Faceted

Earth Earth 2.23: Special Lower Frequency Mix tracklist:

1. Angels (The Bug Remix feat. Flowdan)
2. May Your Vanquished Be Saved from the Bondage of their Sins (Robert Hampson Remix)
3. Teeth of Lions Rule the Divine (Justin K Broadrick Remix)
4. Teeth of Lions Rule the Divine (Brett Netson Version)
5. Like Gold and Faceted (Kevin Richard Martin Remix)*

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top