Mdou Moctar announces new album, Afrique Victime

Avatar photo
Mdou Moctar Afrique Victime stream

Mdou Moctar has announced a new album. On May 21, the Nigerien artist will release Afrique Victime via Matador. Moctar previously released the single “Chismiten,” which we named an Essential Track, and today, he’s shared another new single, “Tala Tannam,” which you can hear below.

“Tala Tannam means your tears,” Moctar says in a press release. “It is another love song of which I’m very fond.”

Speaking about the sound of the album, Moctar adds, “While people have gotten to know Mdou Moctar as a rock band, there is a whole different set of music with this band done on acoustic guitars, which we wanted to incorporate into this album in order to go through a sonic journey.” Check out the album’s tracklist below.

Mdou Moctar Afrique Victime tracklist:

1. Chismiten
2. Taliat
3. Ya Habibti
4. Tala Tannam
5. Untitled
6. Asdikte Akal
7. Layla
8. Afrique Victime
9. Bismilahi Atagah

Mdou Moctar’s “Ilana” is on our list of the Top 100 Songs of 2019.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top