Napalm Death announce new album, Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism

Avatar photo

Napalm Death have announced a new album. On September 18, the British grindcore icons will release Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism via Century Media. It’s the band’s 17th album, and first new studio album in five years. That’s the album’s artwork above.

The band’s vocalist Barney Greenaway released a statement about the new album and its themes of embracing humanity: “The phrase sticking in my mind when I started thinking about the lyrical direction for this album was ‘the other.’ You could recognise at the time that there was a rapidly growing fear and paranoia being generated about everybody, from migrating people to people with fluid sexuality and this was starting to manifest itself in very antagonistic reactions that you felt were almost verging on violence. Not everybody resorts to such reactions of course, but even the basic lack of understanding can become toxic over time. I’m not saying that this is an entirely new phenomenon, but it has been stoked in recent history by some particularly attack-minded people in more political circles and, as ever, I felt that it would be the natural antidote to endorse basic humanity and solidarity with all.”

Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism follows 2015’s Apex Predator – Easy Meat.

Napalm Death Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism tracklist:

1. F**k the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

Napalm Death’s “You Suffer” is featured on our list of 10 Essential Stunt Songs.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top