Neutral Milk Hotel announces career-spanning box set

Avatar photo
Neutral Milk Hotel box set

Neutral Milk Hotel have announced a career-spanning box set. On February 24, Merge Records will release The Collected Works of Neutral Milk Hotel, which features the band’s complete works. It includes their two full-length albums, 1996’s On Avery Island and 1998’s In the Aeroplane Over the Sea, plus the Everything Is 10-inch, a trio of 7-inches containing early versions of On Avery Island songs, plus the Ferris Wheel on Fire on Fire 10-inch, featuring 2010 recordings of earlier songs that were never released, and the Live at Jittery Joe’s Jeff Mangum performance. Check out the complete box set contents below.

They’ve also shared both versions of the rare early song “Little Birds,” which you can hear below.

Neutral Milk Hotel are featured on our list, A History of Indie Folk in 45 Essential Albums.

Neutral Milk Hotel The Collected Works of Neutral Milk Hotel tracklist:

In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
1. King of the Carrot Flowers Pt. 1
2. King of Carrot Flowers Pts. 2 & 3
3. In The Aeroplane Over the Sea
4. Two-Headed Boy
5. Fool
6. Holland, 1945
7. Communist Daughter
8. Oh Comely
9. Ghost
10. [untitled]
11. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2

On Avery Island
1. Song Against Sex
2. You’ve Passed
3. Someone Is Waiting
4. A Baby for Pree
5. Marching Theme
6. Where You’ll Find Me Now
7. Avery Island/April 1st
8. Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone
9. Three Peaches
10. Naomi
11. April 8th
12. Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey’s Eye

Ferris Wheel On Fire
1. Oh Sister (1995)
2. Ferris Wheel On Fire (1993)
3. Home (1992)
4. April 8th (1992)
5. I Will Bury You in Time (1994)
6. Engine (1993)
7. A Baby for Pree/Glow Into You (1995)
8. My Dream Girl Don’t Exist (Live) [1992]

Everything Is
1. Everything Is
2. Here We Are (For W. Cullen Hart)
3. Unborn
4. Tuesday Moon
5. Ruby Bulb
6. Snow Song
7. Aunt Eggma Blow Torch

Little Birds
1. Little Birds (Live) [1998]
2. Little Birds (Studio Demo) [1998]

You’ve Passed / Where You’ll Find Me Now
1. You’ve Passed (Alternate Version)
2. Where You’ll Find Me Now (Alternate Version)

Live at Jittery Joe’s
1. Intro
2. A Baby for Pree
3. Two-Headed Boy
4. I Will Bury You in Time
5. Gardenhead / Leave Me Alone
6. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2
7. I Love How You Love Me
8. Engine
9. Naomi
10. King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 2
11. King of Carrot Flowers Pt. 3
12. Oh Comely

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top