Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds announce B-Sides & Rarities II

Avatar photo
Nick Cave b-sides and rarities II

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have announced B-Sides & Rarities II, the follow-up to the group’s 2005 compilation, B-Sides & Rarities. The new compilation is due out October 22 on vinyl, CD and digitally, and includes outtakes and b-sides from the Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!, Push the Sky Away, Skeleton Tree and Ghosteen sessions and eras. Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds have also announced plans to release B-Sides & Rarities I & II as a 7xLP box set. Cave has shared a previously unreleased track, “Vortex,” which you can hear below.

Cave says in a press release, “I always liked the original B-Sides & Rarities more than any of our other albums. It’s the only one I’d listen to willingly. It seems more relaxed, even a bit nonsensical in places, but with some beautiful songs throughout. There is something, too, about the smallness of certain songs that is closer to their original spirit.

“B-Sides & Rarities Part II continues this strange and beautiful collection of lost songs from The Bad Seeds. I love the final side of the last disc because it reveals the small and fragile beginnings of some of my favourite Bad Seeds songs. ‘Waiting For You’ complete with bizarre ‘canning factory’ rhythm track, a gorgeous ‘Life Per Se’ deemed too sad for Skeleton Tree, and ‘Earthlings’ that some consider the finest track of the Ghosteen sessions.” 

B-Sides & Rarities Part II:

1 Hey Little Firing Squad
2 Fleeting Love
3 Accidents Will Happen
4 Free to Walk (With Debbie Harry)
5 Avalanche
6 Vortex
7 Needle Boy
8 Lightning Bolts
9 Animal X
10 Give Us a Kiss
11 Push The Sky Away (Live With the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra)
12 First Skeleton Tree
13 King Sized Nick Cave Blues
14 Opium Eyes
15 Big Dream (With Sky)
16 Instrumental #33
17 Hell Villanelle
18 Euthanasia
19 Life Per Se
20 Steve McQueen
21 First Bright Horses
22 First Girl in Amber
23 Glacier
24 Heart that Kills You
25 First Waiting for You
26 Sudden Song
27 Earthlings

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ “There She Goes My Beautiful World” is on our list of The 150 Best Songs of the 2000s.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top