Perfume Genius announces new album, Ugly Season

Avatar photo
perfume genius new album Ugly Season

Perfume Genius has announced a new album. On June 17 he’ll release Ugly Season via Matador, which will be accompanied by a short film featuring the work of visual artist Jacolby Satterwhite.

“This project is the genesis of a whole new direction that I’m taking, one that I’ve been thinking about within this endemic culture, since 2020,” says Satterwhite in a press release. “Mike and I are both writing scripts. My visual narrative serendipitously mirrors the lyrical direction in his music; it’s a rare, like-minded bond. It’s a creation myth. How do you architecturally mold and render an idealized version of utopia? It’s about making something that you desire so beyond your scope that it’s hard to grapple into a concrete form.”

The album features the previously released single “Pop Song,” which you can hear below. Ugly Season follows 2020’s Set My Heart on Fire Immediately.

Perfume Genius Ugly Season tracklist:

  1. Just a Room
  2. Herem
  3. Teeth
  4. Pop Song
  5. Scherzo
  6. Ugly Season
  7. Eye in the Wall
  8. Photograph
  9. Hellbent
  10. Cenote
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top