Shabazz Palaces reveal new album details

Avatar photo
Shabazz Palaces Lese Majesty

Over the weekend, Seattle abstract hip-hop duo Shabazz Palaces premiered their new album Lese Majesty at the Pacific Science Center, with a laser show and everything. Today, Shabazz Palaces have revealed the details of their follow-up to 2011’s Black Up, which looks elaborate. It’s a double album with seven suites and 18 tracks. The group released a statement about the album, which is as cryptic and abstract as you might expect:

Herein bumps and soars Lese Majesty, the new sonic action of Shabazz Palaces. Honed and primal, chromed and primo. A unique and glorified offering into our ever-uniforming musical soundscape. Lese Majesty is a beatific war cry, born of a spell, acknowledging that sophistication and the instinctual are not at odds; Indeed an undoing of the lie of their disparate natures.

Lese Majesty was produced by Shabazz Palaces and features appearances by fellow Black Constellation collaborators THEESatisfaction’s Catherine Harris-White, Erik Blood and Thadillac. The album will be released on July 29 in a standard edition (with etched fourth side on vinyl and “shark skin” embossed jacket), or deluxe “Loser Edition” from Sub Pop, which will be pressed on purple vinyl and will feature a bonus 7-inch of “The Palace Slide,” with its instrumental version on the b-side. Check out the tracklist, diagram of the album’s suites and new song “They Come In Gold,” below.

Shabazz Palaces new album diagram

Shabazz Palaces Lese Majesty:

Suite 1: “The Phasing Shift”:
1. “Dawn In Luxor”
2. “Forerunner Foray”
3. “They Come In Gold”

Suite 2: “Touch & Agree”:
4. “Solemn Swears”
5. “Harem Aria”
6. “Noetic Noiromantics”

7. “The Ballad of Lt. Major Winnings”

Suite 3: “Palace War Council Meeting”:
8. “Soundview”
9. “Ishmael”
10. “Down 155th In The MCM Snorkel”

Suite 4: “Pleasure Milieu”:
11. “Divine Of Form”
12. “#Cake”

Suite 5: “Federal Bureau Boys”:
13. “Colluding Oligarchs”
14. “Suspicion Of A Shape”

Suite 6: “High Climb To The Gallows”
15. “Mind Glitch Keytar Theme”
16. “Motion Sickness”

Suite 7: “Murkings On The Oxblood Starway”:
17. “New Black Wave”
18. “Sonic Myth Map For The Trip Back”

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top