Tim Hecker to release score for TV series The North Water

Avatar photo
The North Water

Tim Hecker has composed the score for a new TV series on AMC+ and BBC Two. The show is called The North Water, and it stars Colin Farrell and Jack O’Connell. The digital release of the soundtrack will be tomorrow, September 10 via Invada/Lakeshore, and the vinyl version of the album will be out in January. Hear “Seasick” below.

“The score for The North Water was written just before and during the pandemic in 2020, mostly over arguably one of the darkest winters of some memory in Montreal,” Hecker says in a statement. “The music was an attempt to add depth and texture to a five-hour doomed arctic journey that charts a trajectory from hardened optimism into abject futility. We worked with a primary palette of synthesizers, electronics, and treated cello, in rich live spaces as well as suffocating dead ones. This version of the score is an enhanced mix of some of the material that made its way into the project.”

Revisit our review of Tim Hecker’s 2018 album Konoyo.

Tim Hecker The North Water tracklist:

1 Seasick
2 First on Deck
3 Delirious
4 Seasick II
5 Left on the Ice
6 Our First Whale
7 Ice Row
8 It’s a Mistake to Think Too Much
9 The Warmth of Drax
10 Winter’s Coming
11 Loot
12 A Breather
13 Seasick III
14 Twinkle in the Wasteland
15 Staring Over Again

Tim Hecker is featured on our list of 20 Essential Adult Swim Singles.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top