Tom Waits’ Island Records albums to be reissued on vinyl

Avatar photo
Tom Waits

Tom Waits‘ Island Records discography is being reissued on vinyl. The five albums he released between 1983 and 1993—1983’s Swordfishtrombones, 1985’s Rain Dogs, 1987’s Franks Wild Years, 1992’s Bone Machine and 1993’s The Black Rider—are finally getting vinyl pressings after years of being out of print, which in the case of Bone Machine means its first vinyl release in 30 years, and in fact its first vinyl release, along with The Black Rider, in North America.

Swordfishtrombones, Rain Dogs and Franks Wild Years will be released on September 1 via Island/UMe. Bone Machine and The Black Rider will follow on October 6. The reissue campaign was personally overseen by Tom Waits and his spouse and creative partner Kathleen Brennan. All albums have been sourced from 1/2-inch master tapes and remastered in high resolution 24-bit audio. Additionally, all albums will also be reissued on CD and are now on streaming services in their remastered editions. Stream all five albums below and find pre-order info here.

Read our Treble 100 essay on Tom Waits’ Rain Dogs.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top