Myrkur announces new album, M, releases new track

Avatar photo
best metal albums of 2015 Myrkur M

Danish black metal artist Myrkur has announced her debut album. It’s called M, and it’s out Aug. 21 via Relapse. The album was recorded in Norway with Ulver’s Kristoffer Rygg, and features contributions from Mayhem’s Teloch, and Øyvind Myrvoll of Nidingr and Dodheimsgard. The album is described in a press release as a blend of black metal, Nordic folk music, classical instrumentation and vocal choirs. She just released “Haevnen,” the first single from the album, which you can stream below.

“The album is a story where the songs are connected,” says Myrkur in a statement. “It is Nordic folk music, black metal, classical choirs and more. It feels like a soundtrack to some sort of Norse mythology horror movie with blastbeats. I wrote it about many things, as a goddess who wants revenge and to kill off people in my life, perhaps also a side of myself. I feel a strong sense of being divided into two, not one whole. a side of light and a side of shadows battle within me. And sometimes a disassociation to reality. A disconnect to the normal world and to what I am. This album tells my story and the transformation to one is complete in my mind.”

M follows Myrkur’s 2014 self-titled EP.

Myrkur M tracklist:

1 – Skøgen Skulle Dø
2 – Hævnen
3 – Onde Børn
4 – Vølvens Spådom
5 – Jeg er Guden, I er Tjenerne
6 – Nordlys
7 – Mordet
8 – Byssan Lull
9 – Dybt i Skoven
10 -Skadi
11 – Norn

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top