Forma announce new album, Physicalist

Forma Physicalist

Minimalist ambient trio Forma have just announced their upcoming third album Physicalist, due out September 23 via Kranky. It is apparently the first of their efforts to include acoustic, non-computerized instrumentation, and follows two other brilliant LPs released on Editions Mego. “The double LP contains two distinct halves,” according to a press release, “the first consisting of rhythmic compositions derived from the trio’s formidable array of modular and vintage synthesizers, and the second breaking from the grid with ambient, free-flowing experiments on piano, flute and acoustic percussion.”

Along with the album announcement, the NYC group has shared the closing track from Physicalist: “Improvisation for Flute and Piano.” The song unfurls with a pan piped soundscape.

Listen to “Improvisation for Flute and Piano” here.

Forma Physicalist tracklist:

1. Collapse Of Materialists
2. Sane Man
3. Spin Glass
4. Ghosts
5. Maxwell’s Demon
6. Descent
7. Wanderer Imitates A Cloud
8. As If Pianos Grew On Trees
9. Collapse Of Materialists
10. Physicalist
11. Improvisation For Flute And Piano

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top