Aimee Mann announces new album, Queens of the Summer Hotel

Avatar photo
laura veirs found light review

Aimee Mann has announced a new album. On November 5, the singer/songwriter will release Queens of the Summer Hotel via SuperEgo. The album comprises songs that were written for a stage adaptation of Susannah Kaysen’s Girl, Interrupted. The first single is titled “Suicide is Murder.” Hear it below.

“I started to write this song because I’ve known people who committed suicide and friends who’ve had loved ones die from suicide,” Mann says in a press release. “I think the phrase ‘suicide is murder’ took on a meaning for me as it’s the worst thing to have to deal with in the aftermath. It’s just terrible. Because every person who knows the person who committed suicide will blame themselves in some way for not noticing or stepping in or doing something. They’ll till the end of their days, say, ‘was there something I could have done?’”

Mann has also lined up a handful of shows this fall. Check out those dates below.

Aimee Mann Queens of the Summer Hotel tracklist:

1. You Fall
2. Robert Lowell and Sylvia Plath
3. Give Me Fifteen
4. At The Frick Museum
5. Home By Now
6. Checks
7. Little Chameleon
8. You Don’t Have The Room
9. Suicide Is Murder
10. You Could Have Been A Roosevelt
11. Burn It Out
12. In Mexico
13. Check (reprise)
14. You’re Lost
15. I See You

Aimee Mann tour dates:

9/9 San Diego, CA – Humphrey’s (W)
9/10 Los Angeles, CA – The Greek Theatre (W)
9/11 Saratoga, CA – Mountain Winery (W)

(W) = with Rufus Wainwright

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top