Bat for Lashes announces new album The Dream of Delphi

Avatar photo
Bat for Lashes The Dream of Delphi review

Bat for Lashes has announced a new album. On May 22, Natasha Khan will release The Dream of Delphi via Mercury KX. Today, she’s shared the first single, the title track, which features a video created in collaboration with creative director and choreographer Alexandra Green and directed by Freddie Leyden. Check it out below.

“This is the manifesto of the album,” Khan said about the song in a statement. “It’s like a spell being cast. It’s the conjuring, the manifestation, the drawing-down of Delphi from the ether. This is me calling on her soul. It’s about going up into the stars and down into the underworld simultaneously, how celestials and deep guttural sounds can come together, how that reflects the journey I went on. It’s about what happens when you’re stretched physically, mentally, even vaginally! I think it’s just humbled me, too, becoming a mother. It’s made me feel more vulnerable than I’ve ever felt before. But I feel more human, more embodied. I can’t escape life by making beautiful things as much as I did. But there’s sort of a beauty to my mortality now.”

Bat for Lashes’ last album was 2019’s Lost Girls. It was featured on our list of the 50 Best Albums of 2019.

Bat for Lashes The Dream of Delphi tracklist:

1 The Dream Of Delphi
2 Christmas Day
3 Letter To My Daughter
4 At Your Fee
5 The Midwives Have Left
6 Home
7 Breaking Up
8 Delphi Dancing
9 Her First Morning
10 Waking Up
11 The Dream Of Delphi (Bonus Extended Strings Version)

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top