Cochemea announces new album, Vol. II: Baca Sewa

Avatar photo
Cochemea New album Vol II

Cochemea has announced a new album. The saxophonist and member of the Dap-Kings has revealed the details of his sophomore album, Vol. II: Baca Sewa, which will be released on July 16 via Daptone. The album is a continuation of Cochemea Gastelum’s exploration of his Yaqui/Yoeme indigenous heritage—including memories of his relatives, tributes to medicine women and the identity of his family prior to Spanish colonization—blended with forays into jazz and funk. The first single he’s shared from the new album is titled “Burning Plain.” It’s an atmospheric blend of chants and percussion against Cochemea’s soulful saxophone leads, and you can hear it below.

Vol. II: Baca Sewa follows 2019’s All My Relations.

Cochemea Vol. II: Baca Sewa tracklist:

1. Burning Plain
2. Tukaria
3. Mimbreños
4. Chito’s Song
5. Nahsuareo Bwikam
6. Black Pearl
7. Peace Prayer
8. Curandera
9. Baca Sewa (Song)
10. Baca Sewa (Chant)

Last year, Cochemea performed on “a few words for the firing squad (radiation)” on Run the Jewels’ RTJ4.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top