The Descendents announce new album, 9th & Walnut

Avatar photo
Descendents 9th & Walnut

The Descendents have announced a new album. On July 23, the group will release 9th & Walnut via Epitaph. The album was recorded in 2002 and features the group’s original lineup: bassist Tony Lombardo, drummer Bill Stevenson, guitarist Frank Navetta (d. 2008), and vocalist Milo Aukerman. Some of the songs on the album are among the earliest the L.A. punk band ever wrote. The first single is “Baby Doncha Know,” which you can hear below.

“’Baby Doncha Know’ was maybe the 5th song we learned,” says Stevenson in a press release. “We would go out to 9th & Walnut every weekend and practice all day. I mainly just remember being in awe of how ‘a kid my age, who goes to my high school’ could have written all these cool songs. Frank seemed to have a maturity beyond his years. I never asked him who or what it was about. I was just happy to be there with him and Tony”

9th & Walnut follows 2016’s Hypercaffium Spazzinate.

The Descendents 9th & Walnut tracklist:

1.    Sailor’s Choice
2.    Crepe Suzette
3.    You Make Me Sick 
4.    Lullaby 
5.    Nightage
6.    Baby Doncha Know 
7.    Tired of Being Tired 
8.    I’m Shaky 
9.    Grudge
10.  Mohicans
11.  Like the Way I Know 
12.  It’s A Hectic World 
13.  To Remember 
14.  Yore Disgusting 
15.  It’s My Hair 
16.  I Need Some
17.  Ride the Wild
18.  Glad All Over​ (Dave Clark Five cover)

The Descendents are featured on our list of 35 Essential Epitaph Records Tracks.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top