M83 reissuing Hurry Up We’re Dreaming, release “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea” video

Avatar photo

M83 has announced a 10th anniversary reissue of their 2011 album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming. It’s out April 15 via Mute. Today they’ve shared a new video for “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea,” directed by Sacha Barbin and Ryan Doubiago and produced by Division. It’s intended as a prequel to the trilogy of videos from the album: “Midnight City,” “Reunion” and “Wait.”

Barbin and Doubiago say in a press release, “this story takes place 10 years earlier in order to highlight the first moment one of these children uses their supernatural gifts. On the way to the hospital and moments before his birth, the child’s parents are victims of a horrible car accident. The unborn child is forced to use his powers to save them from within the womb. The idea was to show the literal birth of a superhero. We wanted to place this story in a realistic and universal setting. We think that the panic created by this magnificent moment speaks to everyone. We also wanted to pay homage to the mothers who are too often absent from the mythology of superheroes. And finally, to go beyond the codes of the genre to carry a symbolic message of hope where future generations would come to save us from a dark fate.” Watch it below.

M83 Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming vinyl tracklist:

A1. Intro
A2. Midnight City
A3. Reunion
A4. Where The Boats Go
A5. Wait
B1. Raconte-Moi Une Histoire
B2. Train To Pluton
B3. Claudia Lewis
B4. This Bright Flash
B5. When Will You Come Home?
B6. Soon, My Friend
C1. My Tears Are Becoming A Sea
C2. New Map
C3. OK Pal
C4. Another Wave From You
C5. Splendor
D1. Year One, One UFO
D2. Fountains
D3. Steve McQueen
D4. Echoes of Mine
D5. Klaus I Love You
D6. Outro

M83 is featured on our list, A History of Synth-Pop in 50 Essential Tracks.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top