Hear Matt Berninger’s cover of The Velvet Underground’s “I’m Waiting For the Man”

Avatar photo
I'll Be Your Mirror

On September 24, Verve Records is releasing a new tribute to the Velvet Underground‘s debut album, The Velvet Underground & Nico, titled I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico. The album features contributions from R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, St. Vincent, Courtney Barnett, Iggy Pop with Matt Sweeney and Sharon Van Etten with Angel Olsen. And today, Matt Berninger of The National has shared his contribution to the album, a cover of “I’m Waiting For the Man.” Hear the track below.

Matt Berninger’s latest album is last year’s Serpentine Prison.

I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico tracklist:

1. Sunday Morning – Michael Stipe
2. I’m Waiting For The Man – Matt Berninger
3. Femme Fatale – Sharon Van Etten (w/ Angel Olsen on backing vocals)
4. Venus In Furs – Andrew Bird & Lucius
5. Run Run Run – Kurt Vile & The Violators
6. All Tomorrow’s Parties – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett
7. Heroin – Thurston Moore feat. Bobby Gillespie
8. There She Goes Again – King Princess
9. I’ll Be Your Mirror – Courtney Barnett
10. The Black Angel’s Death Song – Fontaines D.C.
11. European Son – Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney

Read our Hall of Fame feature on The Velvet Underground’s 1969 self-titled album.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top