Monsters of Folk announce 15th anniversary reissue of debut album

Avatar photo
Monsters of Folk 15th anniversary reissue

Monsters of Folk—the group formed by M. Ward, Conor Oberst, Jim James and Mike Mogis—have announced a 15th anniversary reissue of their 2009 self-titled debut album, which is to date their only album. The expanded reissue will be released on June 14 via ATO, and features five previously unreleased bonus tracks recorded during a 2012 session with “Fifth Monster” Will Johnson. Today they’ve shared “Disappeared.” Hear it below.

“Making this album brought me back to the same feelings I had when I first started a band, or first started playing music in general – there’s a real simplicity and excitement to playing with folks you don’t normally play with,” said Jim James in a statement. “The spirit of play is alive on this whole thing.”

“Debut records have a freedom that can’t be matched, because there’s no history to work from,” M. Ward added. “I just hear the four of us following wherever the songs seem to be leading us.”

Monsters of Folk 15th Anniversary tracklist:

1. Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)
2. Say Please
3. Whole Lotta Losin’
4. Temazcal
5. The Right Place
6. Baby Boomer
7. Man Named Truth
8. Goodway
9. Ahead Of The Curve
10. Slow Down Jo
11. Losin Yo Head
12. Magic Marker
13. Map Of The World
14. The Sandman, The Brakeman And Me
15. His Master’s Voice
16. Dear to the Assassin *
17. Sweet Silence *
18. The Living Thing *
19. Museum Guard *
20. Disappeared *

Monsters of Folk 15th anniversary reissue

Monsters of Folk: Monsters of Folk (15th anniversary)

Note: When you buy something through our affiliate links, Treble receives a commission. All albums we cover are chosen by our editors and contributors.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top