Santigold announces new album, Spirituals

Avatar photo
Santigold new album Spirituals

Santigold has announced a new album. On September 9 she’ll release Spirituals via her own Little Jerk label, through Secretly Distribution. The first single she’s shared is titled “Ain’t Ready,” which you can check out below.

Santigold says in a press release, “‘Ain’t Ready’ is a song I started with Illangelo. Dre Skull and Sbtrkt came on board to help bring it home, another true collaboration of such distinct and amazing talent. It was one of those songs where as soon as I opened my mouth the whole melody just poured out. There were no words but all the emotion was there. To me, the song sounded full of struggle and perseverance. It sounded like a battle, and I wanted the production to sound tough, to mirror that grit. I struggled to find the right lyrics at first, but when I got them right, and I started singing them one night in my studio alone, I cried. This song was my own battle song. It’s about taking the hits that life brings and getting back up. It’s about change and moving forward. It’s about faith and vision. And it’s about stepping into your own power.“

Spirituals follows 2016’s 99 Cents.

Santigold Spirituals tracklist:

  1. My Horror
  2. Nothing
  3. High Priestess
  4. Ushers Of The New World
  5. Witness
  6. Shake
  7. The Lasty
  8. No Paradise
  9. Ain’t Ready
  10. Fall First
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top