Anti- announces posthumous Sparklehorse album, Bird Machine

Avatar photo

A posthumous album from Sparklehorse is coming later this year. On September 8, Anti- will release Bird Machine, which features songs that Mark Linkous had recorded with Steve Albini for what was to be the fifth Sparklehorse album. After his death in 2010, his brother Matt and sister-in-law Melissa had begun to listen to and archive Mark’s music, and began the process of going through the unfinished album, some of which were nearly complete and others which just needed “careful encouragement,” per a press release.

“It was as though the songs let you know,” Melissa said in a statement. “Mark communicated these songs. We just did our best to transmit them.”

Late last year, Anti- released “It Will Never Stop.” Today, they’ve released another new song, “Evening Star Supercharger,” which you can hear below.

Sparklehorse’s collaboration with Fennesz is featured on our list, A Guide to the In the Fishtank Album Series.

Sparklehorse posthumous album Bird Machine

Sparklehorse Bird Machine tracklist:

1. It Will Never Stop
2. Kind Ghosts
3. Evening Star Supercharger
4. O Child
5.Falling Down
6. I Fucked It Up
7. Hello Lord
8. Daddy’s Gone
9. Chaos of the Universe
10. Listening to the Higsons
11. Everybody’s Gone to Sleep
12. Scull of Lucia
13. Blue
14. Stay

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top