Yo La Tengo announces Painful reissue

Avatar photo
Yo La Tengo painful reissue

Yo La Tengo‘s Painful was released 21 years ago via Matador, which seems like a mighty long time ago for an album that doesn’t feel like it’s even capable of aging. And on Dec. 2, in honor of Yo La Tengo’s 30th anniversary of the band, Matador will release a reissued version of Painful, titled Extra Painful, featuring a bonus disc of rare tracks and alternate versions, as well as a 7-inch of “Shaker,” released during the Painful era. The band also plans to play a few 30th anniversary shows in December to coincide with the reissue. It’s a whole big Yo La Tengo celebration.

Check out the tracklist for the Yo La Tengo Painful reissue below, along with their 30th anniversary tour dates.


1. Big Day Coming
2. From a Motel 6
3. Double Dare
4. Superstar-Watcher
5. Nowhere Near
6. Sudden Organ
7. A Worrying Thing
8. I Was The Fool Beside You For Too Long
9. The Whole Of The Law
10. Big Day Coming
11. I Heard You Looking

Extra Painful:

1. Nowhere Near (demo)
2. From A Motel 6 (live acoustic)
3. Tunnel Vision (unreleased instrumental demo)
4. Sudden Organ (demo)
5. Smart Window (unreleased Painful session)
6. Big Day Coming (live acoustic)
7. Slow Learner (unreleased demo)
8. Double Dare (demo)
9. A Worrying Thing (demo)
10. I Heard You Looking (live)

Shaker 7″:

A: Shaker
B: For Shame Of Doing Wrong [8-Track Version – the CD single contained a different version which is on the download coupon]

Yo La Tengo 30th anniversary shows:

12/3 Town Hall – New York, NY (w/ Antietam)
12/4 Town Hall – New York, NY (w/ The Feelies)
12/5 9:30 Club – Washington, DC (w/ Lambchop)
12/6 Trocadero – Philadelphia, PA (w/ Antietam)

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top