Sufjan Stevens announces new album, Carrie & Lowell

Avatar photo
sufjan stevens best albums of 2015 so far

Sufjan Stevens isn’t releasing albums at the same rate he once did, but the eclectic singer/songwriter is still as busy as ever. He’s had quite a few side projects and unusual collaborations since releasing his 2010 album The Age of Adz, but he’s finally getting ready to release his follow-up to that weird, wonderful album. His new full-length is called Carrie & Lowell, and it’s being released March 31 via Asthmatic Kitty. The album is named for his mother and stepfather, and according to a press release is about “life and death, love and loss, and the artist’s struggle to make sense of the beauty and ugliness of love.” The press release also states that it’s a return to Stevens’ “folk roots,” whatever that means.

The album features a number of guests, including Casey Foubert, Laura Veirs, Nedelle Torrisi, Sean Carey, Ben Lester and Thomas Bartlett. That’s the artwork above, and check out the tracklist below, along with the album’s trailer.

Sufjan Stevens Carrie & Lowell tracklist:

1 Death With Dignity
2 Should Have Known Better
3 All of Me Wants All of You
4 Drawn to the Blood
5 Fourth of July
6 The Only Thing
7 Carrie & Lowell
8 Eugene
9 John My Beloved
10 No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
11 Blue Bucket of Gold

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top