Blur announces new album, The Magic Whip

Avatar photo
Blur new album

Blur has a Chinese New Year treat for you: A new album. Today, the band — which reunited a couple years ago for a series of festivals and tour dates — announced their first new album since 2003’s Think Tank, in a press conference at a Chinese restaurant, hosted by Zane Lowe. The new album is titled The Magic Whip, and it’s being released on April 28, via Warner Bros.

In the press conference, the band also announced they’ll be performing at London’s Hyde Park on June 20. They also replied to a question about the possibility of performing in North America with, “maybe, if anyone’s interested.” The band shared a new lyric video for the first single, “Go Out,” which you can stream below.

Blur The Magic Whip tracklist:

1. Lonesome Street
2. New World Towers
3. Go Out
4. Ice Cream Man
5. Thought I Was a Spaceman
6. I Broadcast
7. My Terracotta Heart
8. There are Too Many of Us
9. Ghost Ship
10. Pyongyang
11. Ong Ong
12. Mirror Ball

Blur’s Damon Albarn will also likely be busy working with Gorillaz this year, after founder Jamie Hewlett confirmed the group’s return on Instagram. He’s also written an Alice in Wonderland musical that will be staged at the Manchester International Festival. Busy guy, that Albarn.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top